Communication Theory Symposium



Symposium Chairs

Sergio Benedetto, Politecnico di Torino, Italy


Ender Ayanoglu, University of Califonia, Irvine, USA


Sedat Oelcer, IBM, Zurich, Switzerland



Bane Vasic, University of Arizona, Tuscon, USA




The IEEE ICC 2006 Communication Theory Symposium will be held in Istanbul, Turkey, within the framework of ICC 2006. The Symposium will include topics related to all analytical, theoretical, simulation, experimental, and practical aspects of many diverse areas in communication that include but are not restricted to modulation, coding (channel coding including forward error control, coded modulation, and turbo coding), synchronization, equalization, signal processing for communications (interference cancellation, blind adaptive algorithms, diversity and array processing for wireless channels), transmission over all media (copper, coax, fiber, wireless, satellite, deep space, storage, and biological channels), source coding (lossless and lossy data compression, speech, audio, image, and video coding), spread spectrum, multiple access, data communications, multimedia transmission, information theory, and communication networks. For details about submission deadline, paper format, and on-line submission procedure please see the main ICC 2006 page.


List of Topics  

  • Modulation and signal design

  • Channel coding

  • Space-time processing and coding

  • Codes and graphs and iterative decoding

  • Turbo detection algorithms

  • Multiple access techniques

  • Diversity techniques

  • Information-theoretical techniques applied to digital communication

  • Cross-layer design and systems joint source-channel coding

  • Network coding

  • Adaptive coding and modulation

  • MIMO systems

  • CDMA, TDMA & OFDM air interfaces

  • Ultra-wideband communications

  • OFDM techniques

  • Coding and signal processing for recording systems

  • Detection and Estimation Theory

  • Interference avoidance and cancellation

  • Synchronization, and equalization

  • Multi-user detection theory and applications

  • Smart antenna technologies

  • Channel modeling

  • Fading channels propagation and system performance

  • Resource allocation and interference management

  • Software defined radio

  • Implementation aspects of advanced receivers

  • Ad hoc and sensor networks

  • Power line communication

  • Coding and signal processing for optical communication systems

  • Communication theory for genetics and bioinformatics


Technical Committee Members

Valentine Aalo, Florida Atlantic University, USA
Erdal Arikan, Bilkent University, Turkey
Amir Banihashemi, Carleton University, Canada
John Barry, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Stella Batalama, University at Buffalo, USA
Antoine Berthet, SUPELEC, France
Helmut Boelcskei,ETH, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,Switzerland
Joseph Boutros, Ecole Nationale Superieure des Telecommunications, France
Marco Chiani, University of Bologna, Italy
Huaiyu Dai, North Carolina State University, USA
Davide Dardari, University of Bologna, Italy
Tolga Duman, Arizona State University, USA
Giuseppe Durisi, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Robert Fischer, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Marc Fossorier, University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA
Costas Georghiades, Texas A&M University, USA
Wolfgang Gerstacker, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
David Gesbert, Eurecom, France
Dennis L. Goeckel, University of Massachusetts, USA
Robert Heath, University of Texas, Austin, USA
Werner Henkel, International University Bremen, Germany
Mike Honig, Northwestern University, USA
Syed Jafar, University of California, Irvine, USA
Nihar Jindal, University of Minnesota, USA
Stefan Kaiser, DoCoMo Euro-Labs, Germany
Pooi Yuen Kam, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Aleksandar Kavcic, Harvard University, USA
Amir Kondoz, University of Surrey, UK
Witold Krzymien, University of Alberta, Canada
Erozan Kurtas, Seagate Research, USA
Inkyu Lee, Korea University, Seoul, South Korea
Ye (Geoffrey) Li, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Enrico Magli, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Michael Marcellin, University of Arizona+E28, USA
Philippa Martin, University of Canterbuty, New Zealand
Steven McLaughlin, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Olgica Milenkovic, Universityof Colorado, USA
Guido Montorsi, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Jaekyun Moon, University of Minnesota, USA
Ayman Naguib, Qualcomm, Inc., USA
Geir Ĝien, Norwegian University of Technology, Norway
Alberto Perotti, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Erik Perrins, Brigham Young University, USA
Ramesh Pyndiah, ENST Bretagne, France
Riccardo Raheli, Universita of Parma, Italy
Sundar Rajan, Indian Institute of Science, India
Ruggero Reggiannini, University of Pisa, Italy
William Ryan, University of Arizona+E28, USA
Hamid Sadjadpour, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
Bartolo Scanavino, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Christian Schlegel, University of Alberta, Canada
Arnaldo Spalvieri, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Andrej Stefanov, Polytechnic University, USA
Alberto Tarable, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Giorgio Taricco, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Sekhar Tatikonda, Yale University, USA
Cintha Tellambura, University of Alberta, Canada
Adriaan van Wijngaarden, Bell Laboratories, USA
Luc Vandendorpe, Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Emanuele Viterbo, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Giorgio Vitetta, University of Modena, Italy
Rick Wesel, University of California, Los Angeles, USA